News and Announcements Archive

SLIS Alumni Receive MLA Awards

November 6, 2009

Three SLIS alumni were honored at the recent MLA conference for their distingued service in librarianship.   The 2009 Michigan Library Association Award of Excellence went to Valerie Meyerson, MLS ’88, Director of the Charlevoix Public Library, for her outstanding contribution to effective and improved local library service.  The 2009 Loleta D. Fyan Award recipient was Oneka Wilson, MLIS ’05, from the Detroit Public Library. This award is given to a librarian of less than 10 years who has made a creative contribution to library service in Michigan. The 2009 Walter H. Kaiser Award went to John Robertson, MLIS ’07, of the Troy Public Library.  The Kaiser Award goes to a librarian who contributes an idea, procedure, concept or adaptation which results in the improvement of a library or libraries. As computer librarian, Robertson has increased the number of classes and attendees, as well as upgraded the library's website. 

Read more about their successes on MLA's Professional Awards page at: To see pictures of the MLA conference and awards banquet, go to:

Please join us in congratulating these SLIS alumni on their awards!