News and Announcements Archive

New SLIS Scholarship and Fellowship Recipients Announced

September 26, 2012

The School of Library and Information Science at Wayne State University is pleased to announce the recipients of the WSU Library Fellowship, Lothar Spang Memorial Scholarship, and New Student Scholarships. These new opportunities were introduced for the Fall 2012 semester to support students just starting out in the Master of Library and Information Science program.

The new WSU Library Fellow is Zorian Sasyk. Mr. Sasyk will work alongside library professionals across the WSU library system and be exposed to a wide range of professional library work activities and projects.

The Lothar Spang Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Kerry Gaydos. The scholarship is provided in honor of Lothar Spang, a long-time Wayne State librarian who had a special interest in children, young adults, and urban, underserved communities. This full scholarship is funded by the generosity of Spang’s widow, Jean Spang, as well as Lothar’s many friends and colleagues at the University, and, particularly, his colleagues in the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) union.

The New Student Scholarships have been awarded to Megan Anthony, Eleanore Chadderdon, Simone Clunie, Thomas Gerrish, Emma MacGuidwin, Kelly Michiya, and Nicole Williams. These scholarships were established to recruit high achieving, motivated students who will contribute to the SLIS learning community both on-campus and online.

Congratulations to this semester’s award recipients!