News and Announcements Archive

SLIS Students and Alumni Honored at Annual Recognition Ceremony

April 18, 2013


The Wayne State University School of Library and Information Science held its Annual Recognition Ceremony and reception on Tuesday, April 16, 2013 at the university’s McGregor Memorial Conference Center.  This ceremony honored the School’s graduates, scholarship and award winners, student group officers, graduate student assistantsand the myriad contributions of the School’s faculty, donors and supporters.  Cecile Bosshard, MLIS 2012, received the Patricia B. Knapp Award, given each year to the graduating student who has demonstrated a high level of scholarship and shows promise of success in a career in library and information service . Cathleen Russ, Director of the Troy (Michigan) Public Library, was honored as the School’s Distinguished Alumna for 2013.  Ms. Russ led a successful effort over multiple years to keep the Troy Public Library open.  
As testament to the growing proportion of the School’s online student population, the ceremony was streamed live.  Since starting its fully online MLIS option in 2008, the proportion of non-Michigan students has risen from less than 1 percent of the School's student population to over 33% today.  Emphasizing the School's reputation for offering MLIS education that is both affordable and accessible, Associate Dean Bajjaly noted that with the support of the Graduate School SLIS had awarded over $200,000 in scholarships to new and continuing students this year. 
A recording of the event  is available: Please see a complete list of scholarship winners below.
Congratulations to everyone on a fabulous year!


Isabel James Bath Endowed Scholarship

Lisa Laesch-Vanstone

Rosemary Benedetti Endowed Scholarship

Karina Fauble

Bookstock Scholarship

Kathy Schoetzow

Dean’s Merit Scholarship

Susan Gotthelf

Sallie Ellison Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Alexis Tharp

Gloria A. Francis Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Brian Hollies
Sarah Frank
Julie Tabberer

Margaret Hayes Grazier Endowed Scholarship

Samantha Benoit
Debra Hemmye
April Howe
Elissa Zimmer

Robert P. Holley Endowed Scholarship

Faith Kelley

Miriam T. Larson Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Bethany Figg
Michelle John

Library and Information Science Alumni Association Scholarship

Angie Yip

LIS General Scholarship

Kassandra Gilbert
Heather Lander
Emma MacGuidwin

MDMLG Scholarship

Bethany Figg

Joseph J. Mika and Marianne Hartzell-Mika Endowed Scholarship

John Eye

Roger S. and Muriel A. Pepper Endowed Scholarship

Cen Cheng

Edith B. Phillips Endowed Scholarship

Luis Rodriguez
Kacie Weiper

Diane M. Rockall Scholarship

Rochelle La Macchio

Clara Lulis Russell Memorial Scholarship

Lori Harrison
Andito Johnson

Charles Samarjijian Memorial Scholarship

Alexandra Bicknell

New Student Scholarship

Megan Anthony
Shannon Anthony
Kirsten Baldwin-Wilson
Eleanore Chadderdon
Simone Clunie
Collyn DeBanco
Deborah Derylak
Claudia Flores
Thomas Gerrish
Debra Hemmye
Faith Kelly
Monica Kroondyk
Emma MacGuidwin
Kelly Michiya
Elizabeth Webster
John Weimer
Nicole Williams

Robert L. Sherwood Scholarship

Michelle Wise

Lothar Spang Memorial Scholarship

Kerry Gaydos

Cymbrie Pratt Trepczynski Endowed Scholarship for Archival Administration

Lura Smith

Carolyn R. Williams Endowed Scholarship

Sianee Hawkins

H.W. Wilson Scholarship

Laura Gentry

Student Professional Development Award

Rachelle Kuzyk

Student Writing Award, Bibliographic

Rebecca Applin
Stephanie Fair
Megan Taylor

Student Writing Award, Computer Program

Judith E. Pasek

Student Writing Award, Narrative

Luis Rodriguez


Graduate Student Assistants
Kevin Barton
Joshua Benson
Samantha Downes
Stephanie Fair
Clayton Hayes
Kelly Kietur
Nichole Manlove
Julianne Novetsky
Abigail Sadler
Zorian Sasyk


Patricia B. Knapp Award

Cecile Bosshard

Distinguished Alumni Award

Cathleen Russ

WSU Graduate Professional Scholarship

Elizabeth Webster
Meghan McGowan
Rebecca Stout
Charles Keller
April Howe
Bethany Boutin
Matthew Sherman
Laura Peterson
Anne Smith
Emma Macguidwin
Eleanore Chadderdon
Matthew McQuillan
Kacie Weiper
Courtney Whitmore
Robert Sullivan
Paula Jones
Ardith Ohka