News and Announcements Archive

SLIS Students and Alumni Honored at 2014 Annual Recognition Ceremony

May 4, 2014

The Wayne State University School of Library and Information Science held its Annual Recognition Ceremony and reception on Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at the university’s McGregor Memorial Conference Center.  This ceremony honored the School’s graduates, scholarship and award winners, student group officers, and the many contributions of the School’s faculty, donors and supporters.

A recording of the event  is available: A PDF of the Annual Recognition Ceremony event slideshow is available at

Please see a complete list of scholarship and award winners below.

Congratulations on an outstanding year!



Isabel James Bath Endowed Scholarship
James Krueger

Rosemary Benedetti Endowed Scholarship
Andrea Noorlander

Dean’s Merit Scholarship
Roxanne Brazell

Sallie Ellison Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Yalonda Green

Gloria A. Francis Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Jessica Jordan

Margaret Hayes Grazier Endowed Scholarship
Melissa Adkins
Sara Fifield
Jenine Hanna
Rebecca Stout
Anne Zambito

Paulette E. Groen Endowed Scholarship
Michelle Wise

Robert P. Holley Endowed Scholarship
Laura Brown

Miriam T. Larson Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Amanda King
Kimberly Millican
Molly Moeller

Library and Information Science Alumni Association Endowed Scholarship
Sarah Milroy

Margery A. Long Scholarship for Archival Administration
Justine Tobiasz
Elizabeth Nicholson

Metropolitan Detroit Medical Library Group Scholarship
Ann Harris

Roger S. and Muriel A. Pepper Endowed Scholarship
Elizabeth Webster

Edith B. Phillips Endowed Scholarship
Isidoro Alastra
Jessica Keener

Diane M. Rockall Endowed Scholarship
Wendi Mekins
Alan Morse
Milanika Turner

Clara Lulis Russell Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Kalana Cooper

Charles Samarjijian Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Margaret-Melissa L. Lenox

Robert L. Sherwood Endowed Scholarship
Kym Reinstadler

Cymbrie Pratt Trepczynski Endowed Scholarship for Archival Administration
Kathryn Schroeder

Carolyn R. Williams Endowed Scholarship
Heather Goupil

H.W. Wilson Endowed Scholarship
Jasna Cakmak
Gregory McElhatton

Student Writing Award, Bibliographic
Kristin Kniffen

Student Writing Award, Narrative
Gregg McElhatton

American Library Association
Scott Jankowski, President
Guillermo Gasca, Vice President
Analise Johnson, Secretary
Thomas Gerrish, Treasurer
Roxanne Brazell, Webmaster

Future Librarians for Inclusivity and Diversity
Nichole Manlove, President

National Digital Stewardship Alliance
Adam Mosseri, President
Aubrey Maynard, Vice President
Laura Gentry, Secretary
Kevin Barton, Digital Liaison
Courtney Whitmore, Research Chairperson
Kelly Kietur, Research Chairperson
Kristin Johnson, Marketing and Events Chairperson

Society of American Archivists
Dallas Pillen, President
Elizabeth Nicholson, Vice President, Treasurer
Nichole Manlove, Secretary
Kris Kniffen, History Department Liaison
Devin Erlandson, Social Media Manager, Webmaster
Kevin Barton, Digital Liaison
Fall 2013
April Conant, Vice President, Webmaster
Caitlin Brennecke, Secretary, Social Media Manager

Part-Time Promotion
Jennifer Cornell, Part-Time Faculty 2
Nancy Steffes, Part-Time Faculty 2

Employment Security Status
Matthew Fredericks, Academic Services Officer II

Caitlin Brennecke

Lance Werner
Director, Kent District Library
A 2004 SLIS graduate, Werner has been director of KDL – the second largest library system in Michigan – since 2011. Previously, he was the director of the Capital Area District Library (Lansing, MI) and the Library Law Specialist at the Library of Michigan.

Nancy Robertson
State Librarian
Robertson has served as the state librarian of Michigan since she was appointed by Governor Jennifer M. Granholm in November 2005. Some of her accomplishments at the Library of Michigan include involvement in the design and construction of the Martha W. Griffiths Rare Book Room, overseeing the redesign of the Michigan eLibrary (MeL), and securing additional funding for MeL in appropriation year 2013.