MLA Board: Alumni elected president, members-at-large

Headshots of the alumni who were elected to the Michigan Library Association board of directors.
Mary Higgenbottom Johnson, Dillon Geshel and Kate Van Auken

The Michigan Library Association has announced the results of its recent election for the organization’s board of directors. Three of the newly elected members are alumni of Wayne State’s School of Information Sciences. They will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2026.

Dillon Geshel, director of the Superiorland Library Cooperative in Marquette, Michigan, is president-elect of the organization. Geshel received his master of library and information science from Wayne State in 2018 and is a current MLA board member and chair of the organization's Intellectual Freedom Task Force.

Mary Higginbottom Johnson, Associate Director of Operations for the Muskegon Area District Library, and Kate Van Auken, director of the White Pine Library Cooperative in Caro, Michigan, were elected as memebers-at-large. 

Read more about the new board members here.


← Back to listing