SIS alumni receive 2023 Michigan Library Awards

The Michigan Library Association (MLA), the Library of Michigan and the Library of Michigan Foundation recently announced the recipients of the 2023 Michigan Library Awards. Three School of Information Sciences (SIS) alumni were among the honorees who were celebrated during the Michigan Library Awards Gala in Kalamazoo in October.

According to the MLA, the annual awards are considered the state’s highest honors within the library community. The awards celebrate the excellence, accomplishments, dedication and service of outstanding libraries, library staff, trustees and supporters in the Michigan library community.

“It is clear that Michigan libraries and library workers are changing people’s lives for the better and the work they do matters,” said Deborah E. Mikula, MLA Executive Director. “This year’s Michigan Library Awards celebrate and honor some of the most dedicated, creative and driven librarians, supporters and champions. We are so proud of the work these exceptional individuals and libraries are doing in their communities to support the best possible library service for Michiganders, ensuring access to information and safeguarding the right to read.”

SIS alumna Megan Buck received the 2023 Public Librarian of the Year Award.
Alumna Megan Buck received the 2023 Public Librarian of the Year Award.

Public Librarian on the Year

School of Information Sciences 2010 alumna Megan Buck from the Dickinson County Library in Iron Mountain, Michigan, was named the 2023 Public Librarian of the Year Award. This award recognizes outstanding library professionals who inspire people, provide innovative library service to their community, promote collaboration among libraries and show evidence of personal and professional achievement as well as initiative and creativity. 



SIS alumna Jackilyn Roseberry accepts the State Librarian's Excellence Award.
Alumna Jackilyn Roseberry accepted the State Librarian's Excellence Award.

State Librarian’s Excellence Award

The State Librarian’s Excellence Award was awarded to the Fremont Area District Library in Fremont, Michigan. This award highlights the importance of Michigan libraries’ services and recognizes an exemplary library for its commitment to excellence. The State Librarian’s Excellence Award is sponsored by the Roger and June B. Mendel Fund through the Library of Michigan Foundation. Jackilyn Roseberry, a 2015 SIS alumna, is director of the library and accepted the award on the library’s behalf.



Members of the Caro Area District library received the 2023 Intellectual Freedom Award.
Caro Area District Library staff and leadership

Intellectual Freedom Award

The Caro Area District Library in Caro, Michigan, was honored with the 2023 Intellectual Freedom Award. Established in 2023, the MLA Intellectual Freedom Award recognizes a library for the Board’s and Staff’s outstanding work to protect and/or promote the principles of intellectual freedom and the right to read. Erin Schmandt (pictured at the top right), a 2005 School of Information Sciences alumna, is director of the library.


For a complete list of current and past Michigan Library Award recipients, visit

← Back to listing