Professional and Student Organizations

All students in the School of Information Sciences have the opportunity to become involved in several student organizations. Upon admission, students automatically become members of the Student Organizations in Library and Information Science (SOLIS). They may also participate in local student chapters of several international professional associations. Elections are held each year to select student officers.

American Library Association (ALA)

The mission of the WSU student chapter of ALA is: to facilitate and encourage participation in the ALA; to increase the awareness and use of resources of the ALA, including publications, promotional materials, scholarships, and conferences; to provide a local forum for the exchange of ideas and information about trends, issues, and opportunities in the profession; to develop skills and relationships that will enable students to have a creative impact on the profession; to promote involvement in professional activities; and to increase awareness of the national issues on Library and Information Science. 

To find out more about ALA, state chapters and student rates, please visit

  • President: VACANT
  • Vice-President: VACANT
  • Secretary: VACANT
  • Treasurer: VACANT
  • Webmaster: VACANT
  • Distance Liaison: VACANT
  • Outreach Coordinator:VACANT
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Dian Walster,

Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)

The purpose of ASIS&T is to provide a format for the professional development of information specialists, to promote and further research and its application, and to make these achievements known to the public. ASIS&T is an organization that strives to build bridges between different scholarly disciplines such as research and technology, and information and users. 

  • President:  VACANT
  • Vice President: Angelia Buckingham (Anj)
  • President Elect: Jessica Addy
  • Treasurer: Rachel Raimi
  • Volunteer Coordinator: Matthew Rich
  • Secretary: Aleesa Wright
  • Webmaster: Cindi Place
  • Social Media Specialist: Sandra Catron-Kramer 
  • Faculty Advisors: Dr. Laura Sheble,, & Dr. Tim Bowman,
Future Librarians for Inclusivity and Diversity (FLID)

Future Librarians for Inclusivity and Diversity (FLID) provides a safe space for up and coming library and information science (LIS) professionals to gain a better understanding of diversity within the profession and underserved populations.  In preparation for working with individuals from these groups, FLID's mission will be to expose SIS students to issues surrounding diverse cultures, lifestyles, physical abilities, and religious beliefs within the LIS field.

This purpose shall be effectuated through promoting awareness by organizing on and off-campus events (social, educational or otherwise) for SIS students to learn about, exchange ideas, and perhaps resolve issues surrounding diversity and inclusion in LIS

  • President: Allia McCoy
  • Vice President: VACANT
  • Treasurer: VACANT
  • Secretary: VACANT
  • Social Media Specialist: VACANT
  • Volunteer Coordinator: VACANT
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kafi Kumasi

National Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA)

The National Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA) has agreed to partner with Wayne State University's School of Information Sciences for their first ever student chapter. Students joining this group delve into the issues of Digital Preservation, assist in the development of outreach education for these fragile formats, create educational videos and provide input to the NDSA Wiki. There is also a potential for further research in the arena and assisting to develop standards.

Society of American Archivists (SAA)

SAA strives to enhance the education of students interested in archival studies by providing practical resources, networking opportunities and hands-on events, whether they be tours, workshops or the like. This group is active, dynamic and dedicated to the archival profession. In general we are Master's students in the Library and History programs, but we are all in this field to preserve the present day's records for future generations' use.

  • President: Nathaniel Arndts,
  • Vice-President: Belle Teesdale
  • Secretary: Sarah Smith
  • Treasurer: Allie Penn
  • Social Media Manager: Ellen Gleason
  • History Department Liason: Laura Kennedy
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Louis Jones,​